Reference · Coffee
What the equipment makers, the Specialty Coffee Association and a few roasters publish for each brew method: ratio, grind, dose, water, time and temperature. Ranges are recorded as ranges. Where sources disagree, the table says who says what.
The SCA Golden Cup standard
The SCA’s current brewer standard is written around 55 g of coffee per litre of water, a slurry held between 90 and 96 °C, and a finished brew strength of 1.15 to 1.55% dissolved solids. It sets no extraction percentage and no brew time.
| Golden Cup parameter | SCA Standard 310-2021 | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Brew ratio | 55 g of coffee per 1.000 kg of water | [1] |
| Brew temperature (slurry) | 90 to 96 °C | [1] |
| Brew strength (TDS) | 1.15-1.55% | [1] |
| Extraction target | none stated | [1] |
| Holding temperature | 80 to 85 °C for 30 minutes, if heated | [1] |
Source: SCA Standard 310-2021, read 7 September 2026 from a public mirror because the SCA’s own copy is now member-only (see sources). The 2021 standard defines 'brew yield (percent extraction)' but sets no numeric extraction target and no brew-time requirement. The widely quoted 18-22% extraction window comes from the older SCA Certified Home Brewer program requirements, recorded below under 'Drip machine / batch brew', which also carried a narrower 1.15-1.45% strength window and a 92°C minimum. Between the 2017 program document and the 2021 standard the upper strength bound moved from 1.45% to 1.55% and the temperature floor from 92°C to 90°C.
The table, method by method
One table per method, one row per source. Ranges are the source’s own unless marked derived, which means the range was computed from several recipes on that page. A dash means the source prints no figure.
Pour-over: Hario V60
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hario (maker) [2] | not stated as a ratio* | — | — · — | within 3 minutes | — |
| Hario Europe (maker site; community post by a guest contributor) [3] | — | — | 24 g · 300 ml water | — | 85 to 90 °C / 185 to 194 °F (converted) |
| Stumptown Coffee Roasters [4] | — | about as fine as kosher salt | 21 g · 360 g water | about three minutes | about 205 °F |
| Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes, Hario cone) [5] | 1:15 to 1:16.7 (derived) | 522-770 µm (derived) | 15-25 g · 225-400 g water | 2:05-5:10 to drain | 201-206 °F |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. * Hario (maker): bloom with 2x the coffee weight in water, then three pours of 4x the coffee weight each (a ratio is implied, not stated). Hario Europe (maker site; community post by a guest contributor): Weaker authority than Hario's global page: a guest post hosted on the maker's site. Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes, Hario cone): Derived: the page lists 31 Hario-cone recipes, one per coffee; the ranges above are the minimum and maximum across them, ratio computed from each recipe's stated coffee and water. One micron figure per recipe is printed by Onyx.
Where the sources disagree
- Temperature: Hario Europe says 85-90°C; Stumptown says about 205°F (roughly 96°C); Onyx 201-206°F. The maker's own global page gives no temperature.
- Strength: Hario Europe 24 g to 300 ml; Stumptown 21 g to 360 g; Onyx 1:15 to 1:16.7. None of the maker pages prints a ratio.
Pour-over: Chemex
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chemex (maker) [6] | not stated as a ratio* | medium coarse | — · — | — | boiled, then allowed to stop boiling vigorously |
| Stumptown Coffee Roasters [7] | — | medium-coarse like Kosher salt | 42 g · 700 g water | About 4 Minutes | about 205 °F |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. * Chemex (maker): one rounded tablespoon of ground coffee for every 5 oz. cup (volumetric). Chemex (maker): Chemex's main how-to page (https://chemexcoffeemaker.com/pages/how-to-brew-with-chemex, fetched 200) carries its instructions only as embedded video; no figure was taken from it. The FAQ (https://chemexcoffeemaker.com/pages/faq, 200) repeats 'Use a medium coarse grind'.
Where the sources disagree
- Dose: Chemex states it by volume per 5-oz cup; Stumptown by weight for a full brew. They cannot be compared without a conversion neither source makes.
Pour-over: Kalita Wave
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stumptown Coffee Roasters [8] | 1:16 | medium-fine, around the texture of sea salt | 21 g · 345 g water | About 3 Minutes | about 205 °F |
| Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes, Kalita Wave 185) [9] | 1:12 to 1:17 (derived) | 505-895 µm (derived) | 15-25 g · 235-400 g water | 1:35-4:45 to drain | 192-206 °F |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes, Kalita Wave 185): Derived: 38 Kalita recipes on the page; ranges are min-max across them. Most sit near 1:16; the 1:12 end is a single 25 g / 300 g recipe.
Kalita USA's own how-to page (https://kalitausa.com/pages/how-to-brew-with-kalita, fetched 200) links to roaster videos and prints no figures, so the maker row is empty by the maker's choice, not ours.
AeroPress (upright)
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AeroPress (maker) – pre-ground [10] | — | medium | 16-18 g · up to the 4 marked on side of Chamber | stir about 3 seconds, wait 60 seconds, then press | 85 °C / 185 °F |
| AeroPress (maker) – freshly ground [11] | — | medium-fine | 16-18 g · up to the 4 marked on side of Chamber | stir about 3 seconds, wait 30 seconds, then press | 85 °C / 185 °F |
| Stumptown Coffee Roasters [12] | 1:13 | fine, about the texture of table salt | 17 g · 220 g water | just under two minutes (press from 1:15) | 90-96 °C / 195-205 °F |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. AeroPress (maker) – freshly ground: The maker's FAQ (https://aeropress.com/pages/faq, 200) adds: 'A level scoop holds 12-13 grams of coffee. A heaping (rounded) scoop of coffee holds 16-18 grams.' and 'brew with 175°F (80°C) water for dark roasts and 185°F (85°C) for medium and light roasts.' The FAQ describes the inverted method but publishes no recipe for it, so none is recorded.
Where the sources disagree
- Temperature: the maker says 185°F / 85°C (175°F / 80°C for dark roasts); Stumptown says 195-205°F / 90-96°C. This is the largest maker-versus-roaster gap in the table.
- Steep: the maker says 30 seconds (fresh-ground) or 60 seconds (pre-ground); Stumptown presses at 1:15 for a total just under two minutes.
- Grind: maker 'medium-fine' (or 'medium' for pre-ground); Stumptown 'fine, about the texture of table salt'.
French press
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stumptown Coffee Roasters [13] | — | coarse like breadcrumbs | 56 g · 850 g water | press at 4:00 | about 205 °F |
| Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster) [14] | 1:16 (derived) | 800 µm | 25 g · 400 g water | stir at 0:30 and 1:30, plunge at 2:30 | 205 °F |
| Bodum (maker) – printed instructions leaflet ZP2018-000009, V2.20190212 [15] | — | coarse | 1 rounded tbsp or 1 BODUM scoop of coarse ground coffee per cup (1.25 dl or 4 oz) · 125 ml water | at least 4 minutes | hot, not boiling (no figure printed) |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. Bodum (maker) – printed instructions leaflet ZP2018-000009, V2.20190212: The maker prints a spoon, not a weight. The brew ratio calculator (simplified 2026-09-22 to four methods, one generic recipe each) uses Bodum's grind, temperature and time for French press and the SCA's 55 g/L for the weight, and its page says so.
Where the sources disagree
- Steep time: Stumptown presses at 4:00; Onyx plunges at 2:30 with two stirs.
No maker entry. Bodum's how-to page (https://www.bodum.com/us/en/how-to-french-press) returns 200 but serves only page metadata and a tag-manager script to a non-browser fetch; no figure could be quoted from it.
Moka pot (stovetop)
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bialetti (maker) [16] | — | ground coffee for moka | fill the funnel generously, without pressing down · up to the safety valve (room-temperature water) | when you hear the gurgle | — |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. Bialetti (maker): Bialetti publishes no gram dose, no ratio, no temperature and no duration for the Moka Express; every instruction is qualitative, and the table records it that way. Two further Bialetti pages (https://www.bialetti.com/it_en/moka-express-experience and https://www.bialetti.com/ee_en/inspiration/post/new-moka-here-is-what-to-do-to-get-off-to-a-good-start, both 200) add 'room-temperature water' and 'up to the lower edge of the valve'.
Espresso
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| La Marzocco Home (machine maker) [17] | 1:2 (normale) | — | 18 g · 36 g yield | 30 seconds in the example; typically 25-35 seconds | 93 at the factory; usually 90-93 °C / 200 at the factory; usually 195-205 °F |
| Breville (machine maker) [18] | 1:2 | — | 18-22 g · 40 from a 20 g dose g yield | 25-30 seconds ideal; 20-40 seconds acceptable | — |
| Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes) [19] | 1:1.95 to 1:3 (derived) | — | 17-20 g · 36-57 g yield | 20-33 seconds at 9 bar, after 0-3.5 seconds at line pressure | — |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. La Marzocco Home (machine maker): The source's own °F and °C ranges are not exact conversions of each other; both are reproduced as written. Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes): Derived: 72 espresso recipes on the page; ranges are min-max across them. Onyx prints no brew temperature.
Where the sources disagree
- Dose: La Marzocco's example is 18 g; Breville says 18-22 g; Onyx runs 17-20 g. All three land on or near 1:2, and Onyx runs longer ratios on some coffees.
- Shot time: La Marzocco 25-35 s; Breville 25-30 s ideal within 20-40 s; Onyx 20-33 s at pressure.
Cold brew (immersion, concentrate)
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toddy (maker) – Cold Brew System brewing guide [20] | not stated as a ratio* | coarse | 340 g · 1900 ml water | 8 to 24 hours | — |
| Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; Toddy gallon recipe) [21] | 1:6.2 (derived) | 1050 µm | 283 g · 1750 g water | — | 80 °F |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. * Toddy (maker) – Cold Brew System brewing guide: 340 g coffee to 1.9 L water, for a CONCENTRATE diluted 1 part concentrate to 2 parts water or milk. Toddy (maker) – Cold Brew System brewing guide: a concentrate, diluted 1 part coffee concentrate to 2 parts water or milk. Toddy (maker) – Cold Brew System brewing guide: A concentrate recipe. Do not read its coffee-to-water figure against the hot-brew ratios above. Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; Toddy gallon recipe): Also a concentrate. Onyx prints no steep time for it.
Where the sources disagree
- Strength of concentrate: Toddy's own guide uses 340 g to 1.9 L; Onyx uses 283 g to 1,750 g in the same brewer.
Clever dripper (immersion pour-over)
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ozone Coffee Roasters (UK) [22] | — | medium filter grind | 15 g · 250 g water | approx. 3:30 total; set on the mug at 2:15 to drain | 95 °C / 203 °F (converted) |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. Ozone Coffee Roasters (UK): No maker instruction page with figures was located; single-source method.
Drip machine / batch brew (the SCA brewer standards)
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Specialty Coffee Association – SCA Standard 310-2021, Home Coffee Brewers [23] | 55 g per 1.000 kg of water | — | — · — | — | 90 to 96 (slurry) °C |
| Specialty Coffee Association – Minimum Certification Requirements for Coffee Brewers (Certified Home Brewer program, 2017 document) [24] | 55 grams of coffee per liter | — | — · — | more than 4 minutes but less than 8 minutes (water contact time) | reach 92 within the first minute, hold at least 92, never exceed 96 (at the point water contacts the grounds) °C |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. Specialty Coffee Association – Minimum Certification Requirements for Coffee Brewers (Certified Home Brewer program, 2017 document): The only source in this table for the 18-22% extraction window and the 4-8 minute contact time. Superseded for strength and temperature by the 2021 standard above. Because the URL answers the fetch tool but not curl, an automated link check will report it as broken; the document is real and was read in full on the verification date.
Where the sources disagree
- Brew strength: 1.15-1.55% (2021 standard) against 1.15-1.45% (2017 program requirements).
- Temperature floor: 90°C (2021, measured as slurry temperature) against 92°C (2017, measured where water meets the grounds).
- Extraction: the 2021 standard sets no number; the 2017 document says 18.0-22.0%.
Siphon (vacuum)
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hario Europe (maker) [25] | — | — | 10 g · 120 ml water | 40-60 seconds brewing time | — |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. Hario Europe (maker): Per cup. Hario's global siphon page (https://global.hario.com/coffeelife/siphon.html, 200) adds only 'Heat for one minute and then turn off the heat'. No grind or temperature is published by the maker.
Turkish coffee (cezve)
| Who says | Ratio | Grind | Dose · water | Time | Temperature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kurukahveci Mehmet Efendi (producer, Istanbul) [26] | not stated as a ratio* | finely ground Turkish coffee | 6 g · one coffee cup of drinking water per serving | about two minutes | heated slowly to a foam, then brought to a further boil |
Sources: as linked in the first column, read 7 September 2026. * Kurukahveci Mehmet Efendi (producer, Istanbul): one teaspoon of coffee (6 g) per cup of water, measured with the serving cup.
What could not be sourced
- Bodum (French press maker) figures. Its pages serve no instruction text to a non-browser fetch; three URLs tried.
- Kalita (maker) figures. Kalita USA's how-to page prints no numbers; it links to roaster videos.
- Clever (maker) figures. No maker page with figures located within the fetch budget.
- AeroPress inverted method. The maker describes it and discourages it; it publishes no recipe for it.
- A current SCA numeric extraction target. The 2021 standard defines percent extraction and sets no number. Only the 2017 program document gives 18-22%.
Two prices, for the cost-per-cup calculator
Two price references for the cost-per-cup calculator (C4-01), added in sitting B-II. They are NOT brew guidance and sit outside the maker/SCA/roaster source rule above: one is a federal statistical series, the other a point-of-sale company's published median. Both were fetched on asOf and returned 200 to plain curl.
| Price | Value | Month | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ground coffee, 100%, all sizes, per lb., U.S. city average (BLS series APU0000717311) | $9.299 / lb | August 2026 | [27] |
| Median menu price of a regular hot coffee at restaurants on the toast platform (Toast Menu Price Monitor) | $3.77 / cup | July 2026 | [28] |
Sources: BLS (published with the July 2026 CPI, 12 August 2026) and Toast (published 11 August 2026), read 7 September 2026. Supermarket ground coffee, the broadest and cheapest tier. A specialty roaster's 12 oz bag costs more per pound; the calculator's bag-price input exists so the reader can type their own. October 2025 is marked '-(X)' on the BLS page: data unavailable due to the 2025 lapse in appropriations. The Toast Benchmarking tool aggregates pricing data from over 70 million unique restaurant menu items on the Toast platform.
The short version
Start from a maker's numbers, then change one thing
The makers publish less than you would expect — Hario states no ratio, Chemex no grams, Bialetti no numbers at all — and the roasters fill the gap with recipes that disagree on temperature by ten degrees and on steep time by a factor of two. None of that is a contradiction to resolve. It is a range to brew inside: take the row for your equipment, keep everything fixed but one variable, and taste the difference.
Article sources
- SCA Standard 310-2021, Home Coffee Brewers: Specifications and Test Methods — Public mirror of the SCA document, fetched 7 September 2026, HTTP 200. The SCA's own URL (sca.coffee/s/SCA_Standard_310-2021.pdf) returned 404 to the public on the same date; the standard is listed as member-only at sca.coffee/research/coffee-standards.
- Hario (maker) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Hario Europe (maker site; community post by a guest contributor) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Stumptown Coffee Roasters — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes, Hario cone) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Chemex (maker) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Stumptown Coffee Roasters — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Stumptown Coffee Roasters — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes, Kalita Wave 185) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- AeroPress (maker) – pre-ground — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- AeroPress (maker) – freshly ground — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Stumptown Coffee Roasters — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Stumptown Coffee Roasters — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Bodum (maker) – printed instructions leaflet ZP2018-000009, V2.20190212 — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Bialetti (maker) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- La Marzocco Home (machine maker) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Breville (machine maker) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; per-coffee recipes) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Toddy (maker) – Cold Brew System brewing guide — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Onyx Coffee Lab (roaster; Toddy gallon recipe) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Ozone Coffee Roasters (UK) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Specialty Coffee Association – SCA Standard 310-2021, Home Coffee Brewers — Public mirror of the SCA document, fetched 7 September 2026, HTTP 200. The SCA's own URL (sca.coffee/s/SCA_Standard_310-2021.pdf) returned 404 to the public on the same date; the standard is listed as member-only at sca.coffee/research/coffee-standards.
- Specialty Coffee Association – Minimum Certification Requirements for Coffee Brewers (Certified Home Brewer program, 2017 document) — Read in full 7 September 2026 through the fetch tool; the URL returns 404 to a plain request, so an automated link check will flag it. Superseded for strength and temperature by SCA Standard 310-2021.
- Hario Europe (maker) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Kurukahveci Mehmet Efendi (producer, Istanbul) — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- BLS Average Price Data, series APU0000717311 — Fetched 7 September 2026.
- Toast, July 2026 Median Regular Hot Coffee Prices Rise to $3.77 — Fetched 7 September 2026.
